OOTD: Zimmermann & KisforKani Floral Garland Spring Racing Outfit idea

by ohsuzi

The recent event hosted by Grazia in preparation for the Spring Racing Carnival got me thinking about what outfits I’d like to see and might wear to the races. This outfit features a dress by Zimmermann that I impulsively purchased last year but I have struggled to find a way to wear it ever since. I was going through a Nicole Richie Appreciation phase at the time and felt that large kaftans would be my “thing”. That did not quite work out for me.

The sales assistant FORBADE me belt the dress because apparently that would be an insult to the life of a kaftan. She said to me “If you are going to belt it, I’m not going to let you buy it”. So NOW every time I reach for a belt to shorten the dress, I can feel her judging me. Today I found the answer.

1. KisforKani Floral Head Piece
2. Zimmermann dress
3. Zu Heels

I tied a little knot at the bottom of the dress. So simple. So perfect. I’m surprised I didn’t think of it earlier.

THE HEADPIECE:

The floral head piece goes so nicely with the dress, who needs an expensive hat or fascinator? This little baby will sit on your head all day and you won’t be obscuring anyone’s vision at the racing. The result? Appreciated by all and loved by most.

THE JACKET:

I chose this lace jacket from TOPSHOP as the outerwear for the outfit. I feel like it is a nice alternative on the traditional blazer, cropped jacket or leather jacket that tends to overpower outfits. Heavy jackets end up hindering the overall look of the outfit you so meticulously planned. Mind you, it won’t keep you as warm as a thickER jacket but there is a price to pay to looking good and in my opinion this is a bargain!

THE SHOES:

Chose these purple heels by Zu, the deep front cut elongates the legs but still has a beautiful profile. Camera Ready from every angle!

